Skip to Main Content

External Advisory Board

Established in 2003, the UMBC Public Policy External Advisory Board is comprised of leaders in business, government and non-profit organizations that are committed to building bridges between the public policy activities at UMBC and policymaking in the state and region.

2015 Board Members

Arthur C. Abramson, Chair
Executive Director, Baltimore Jewish Council

Andy Barth
Press Secretary, Howard County Executive

Diane Bell-McKoy
President and CEO, Associated Black Charities

Kristin Jones Bryce
Vice President for External Affairs
University of Maryland Medical System

Clarence T. Bishop
Director, Office of Congressional, Intergovernmental and Public Affairs, National Nuclear Security Administration

Renato A. DiPentima
Board of Directors and former President, SRA International, Inc.

Donald C. Fry
President and CEO, Greater Baltimore Committee

Matthew D. Gallagher
President and CEO, Goldseker Foundation

John R. Griffin
Former Chief of Staff, Office of the Governor of Maryland

Adrienne A. Jones
Speaker Pro Tem, Maryland House of Delegates

Nancy K. Kopp
Maryland State Treasurer

Michael C. Laracy
Coordinator for Public Policy, The Annie E. Casey Foundation

Jon M. Laria
Managing Partner, Ballard Spahr LLP

Ben Lloyd
Senior Budget Analyst, Harford County

Donald I. Mohler III
Chief of Staff, Baltimore County Executive

Catherine Motz
Executive Director, CollegeBound Foundation

Martha Nathanson
Vice President, Government
Relations and Community Development, LifeBridge Heath

David B. Nitkin
Director of Communications and Policy Advisor, Office of the Maryland Attorney General

J. Thomas Sadowski
President and CEO, Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore

Alexander M. Sanchez
Director of Politics and Government Relations
LiUNA! Mid-Atlantic Regional Organizing Coalition

Andrew Smullian
Deputy Mayor, Government Relations and Labor, Office of the Mayor of the City of Baltimore

Hector L. Torres, Long and Foster Real Estate

Thomas E. Wilcox
President, Baltimore Community Foundation

Craig A. Williams
Chief of Staff, Office of the Maryland Governor