Public Policy Student Fellowships

Judith A. Shinogle Memorial Fellowship

Dr. Judith Ann “Judy” Shinogle was a former Senior Research Scientist with the Maryland Institute for Policy Analysis and Research and Adjunct Associate Professor of Public Policy, who passed away in May 2012. Judy’s work for MIPAR included studies on gambling, childhood obesity, and wellness initiatives. Her published work includes articles on the effects of mental health insurance coverage on employees’ disabilities, mental health parity in insurance, economic costs of obesity, and pharmaceutical use among persons with disabilities.

The Judith A. Shinogle Memorial Fellowship is chosen by a faculty panel and awarded each year to a Health Policy doctoral student for their notable contribution to research in Health Policy. Each yeah in November, the student recipient presents their work at the Judith A. Shinogle Memorial Award Lecture. Watch Shinogle award lectures here. 


Renato DiPentima Fellowship

Dr. Renato DiPentima is the former President, CEO and Board Director of SRA International. He served as President and CEO of SRA International from 2005 to 2007 and President and COO from 2003 to 2005 and President of the Federal Sector from 1997-2003. Prior to joining SRA as CIO in 1995, Dr. DiPentima held several senior management positions in the U.S. Federal Government, including serving as the Social Security Administration’s Deputy Commissioner and CIO. Dr. DiPentima serves on several Boards of Directors, including Cap Gemini Government Solutions and Blue Delta Capital Partners. He graduated with a B.A. from New York University, an M.A. from George Washington University and was one of the first to receive a Ph.D. in Policy Sciences from the Policy Sciences Graduate Program at UMBC (now the School of Public Policy at UMBC). He currently serves on the School of Public Policy External Advisory Board.

The Renato DiPentima Fellowship supports Public Policy doctoral student success at UMBC through grants to fund educational expenses, including tuition and fees or research expenses. All public policy doctoral students are welcome to apply.

Priority will be given to:

  • Dissertation research support for students who have advanced to candidacy;
  • Students currently employed by the federal government;
  • Students who have previously applied for and been denied UMBC dissertation funding.

Current doctoral students can apply via this form.


Adam Yarmolinsky Fellowship

Mr. Adam Yarmolinsky devoted his life to civil service, education, and social justice – serving in the Kennedy, Johnson, and Carter Presidential administrations and later joining UMBC as Provost. During his career in the federal government, he used his position in the Department of Defense to reorganize and modernize the Pentagon and advocate for for placement of military bases only in desegregated areas. He was also integral in establishing the Peace Corps and developing national programs to fight poverty; most notably President Lyndon Johnson’s War on Poverty. Mr. Yarmolinksy later joined UMBC as Regents Professor of Public Policy and Provost. As Provost, he led the creation of the Shriver Center, and was known as a compassionate mentor to junior faculty and valued advisor to leadership. Read Dr. Freeman Hrabowski’s remarks on Mr. Yarmolinsky’s passing here.

The Adam Yarmolinsky Fellowship supports Public Policy masters and doctoral students’ success at UMBC through grants for educational expenses, including tuition and fees or research expenses.

All public policy students are welcome to apply. Priority will be given to those who demonstrate how their course of study or research relates to the values Adam Yarmolinsky represented with his work by promoting either:

  • Poverty alleviation and/or social programs that help low-income populations,
  • International diplomacy and peace (in line with the values of the Peace Corps and the UMBC Shriver Center)

Apply via this form.


Meet our current fellows.